Dreams & Reality

Last night I spoke to a class a Housatonic Community College in Bridgeport, CT.  I was asked to speak to the class regarding my life story, in a nutshell, and career goals, etc.  This is my second semester doing this and I am really grateful to those who have given me this opportunity to share a part of myself I don’t usually get a chance to do.

We all have dreams and then we all have reality.  Recently I was on the phone with a woman who has a teenager and I told her my story and how I got to be where I am today, including the mistakes, hard knocks, and the happy interruptions along the way.  She said she was grateful to hear someone else share the twists and turns of life.  When she said that, it made me think of the game Chutes and Ladders.  We go, move up, move down, go ahead, set back.

One thing I’ve learned the hard way is what may at first seem like a set, or step, back may in reality be a step forward.  One door closes, it may often times be for the better.  Yes, it’s hard in the beginning, but sometimes it was well worth it.

The main topic of the presentation was getting a degree.  What I have learned the hard way: get a degree, but get it in something you love, enjoy doing, and can make money at.  I have my BA in English and so do twenty million other people.  Yes, it is flexible, but at the same time limiting.  I regret not getting a degree in Biology or some other science field.  It would make me more employable in many areas.  Also, now when I do my environmental volunteer work, I’m stuck when someone asks me an advanced question and I don’t know the answer.  As much reading as I do, and as much as I’ve learned over the years, I still feel like I missed something along the way.

One question I usually get: Will I go back?  Yes, I will, but I’m still figuring that out.  If I want a degree in Bio,for example, it would require completely altering my schedule.  First, I want to complete my Master’s.  In another post, I’ll talk about that at length.

Leave a Reply

