Louise Erdrich

Let me ask you this: who is your favorite author?  The one author, who when they come out with a new book, you can’t wait to get a copy?

I was so excited to go to the library tonight and get a copy of the most recent BookPage magazine.  (Their website is http://www.bookpage.com and, no, I don’t work for them.)  Louise Erdrich is on the cover because of her new book: The Round House.  I can’t wait to read it!

I’ve read all of her books over the years.  My favorite after Tracks is The Master Butcher’s Singing Club.  I loved the book and didn’t want to put it down or have it end.  Something about it, maybe the family and local dynamics, or the history and the culture, really struck a cord in me.  The irony of the book is that I don’t eat red meat and hate going near a butcher shop!

Reading Ms. Erdrich’s books has really opened another world for me and I know for other people who have read, understand, and can appreciate her books as well.  She really brings to life a side of America many people don’t know about.  Even as much reading as I did and have done since reading her books, I learned more about the personal narrative of Native Americans from reading her books than I ever have anywhere else.

Have you read any of her books?  Thoughts?  Comments?  Do you have a favorite?  Are their other authors like Ms. Erdrich that you know about?

 

 

Leave a Reply

