Uproar over Miranda rights

The daily prompt for yesterday is how many ways can you clone yourself.  In the morning I will make a list, probably about twenty and post those later.

Anyway, I just wanted to throw my two cents into the whole debate about the Miranda controversy surrounding the surviving Boston bomber.  I was listening to NPR the other day when they had someone on discussing it.  The woman trivialized it by saying it’s just like everyone knows from “Law and Order.”  It is, and it isn’t.  There’s a lot more to it than the few lines civilians, for lack of a better term, may or may not know.  Everybody should know, in a perfect society, the Miranda rights and how and why they came to be formed.  Learning about this was an huge eye opener for me.  My feeling is that everyone under arrest should be read their rights and that everyone should understand that anything you say to the police does have a potential to be used.

Miranda rights did come up in my sphere in a round about way last year.  My next door neighbor, now a convicted drug felon with no jail time, waived his Miranda rights when the police caught him in July 2012 with 35 pounds of marijuana.  Some people, an attorney or two included, asked me what that meant, to waive Miranda, is that possible?  In plain English: he chose not to remain silent, he cooperated with the police and showed them evidence of his activities.  I wonder now if the Boston bomber has done the same thing because from what the media is saying he is “cooperating.”

I hate the way the important parts of our societal fabric are often trivialized.  When that woman was talking, to me it felt like nails being scratched down a chalk board.  I wish the story behind Miranda had been explained a lot more, how it came to be, and what the full text of the warning is.  Read it aloud over the radio next time so all may hear and hopefully understand.

Leave a Reply

