Learning and “getting it” many times around

This is in response to Seth Godin’s post: “I get it.”

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2013/06/i-get-it.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+typepad%2Fsethsmainblog+%28Seth%27s+Blog%29&utm_content=FaceBook

Reading this post was relevant for two reasons recently.  

First, spring is usually the time when I do most of my environmental volunteer work.  The weather is warm, school is almost over, and it is time for the field trips out to the wetlands.  I go out with mainly retired teachers and have the honor, weather permitting, of helping to show every student every little creature we can find in thirty minutes.  We dig up dirt, claw through the grass, and learn the art of catching animals the size of a thumbnail.  Along the way we volunteers memorize our parts.  However, this year was different.

This year things were switched up a bit; something that is always fine by me.  Two of the volunteers I now work with eat, breath, and sleep what we do.  I have never learned so much in such a short period of time.  Is this information ripe for winning cash prizes?  Maybe not.  Yet it has been an excellent reminder that even the shorthand version always needs to  be learned and relearned and more information added.  I even admit to the shorthandedness and tell everyone where they can find the book that gives a more detailed history than we can in our short period of time.

Secondly, what I do as a tutor can be sometimes frustrating because I have such a short amount of time.  I can give you what you need, get you to ask the questions you need to ask when I’m not around, yet again I’m only able to give the abridged version.  Sometimes there is so much more to understanding something.  

I thank Seth Godin for prompting everyone to read the full story/ book/ message, etc. because you never know what you may be missing.

Leave a Reply

