When I look in the mirror…..

This is from WordPress.com’s Daily Prompt.

When I look in the mirror I see me and anyone who is nearby.

People who are into makeup and fashion consulting that know me want to just take me and give me a complete do over.  I don’t spend a lot of time in front of the mirror.  Lately I’ve been putting on some eyeshadow and wear lip gloss once in a while, but that’s it.  I think I spend more time looking in my car’s rearview mirror than I do the huge, wall size bathroom mirror that’s in my house.

I’m more fascinated sometimes by the process of how mirrors are made and how they came to be.  I remember reading somewhere the first mirrors common people used where the sides of metallic jars and such.  Only the wealthy, the really wealthy, could afford mirrors because of the extreme process it takes to create them.  Now, today, they are mass marketed and anyone can afford them.

I also find fascinating the spiritual part of how humans have interpreted mirrors.  I had a small crash course in Feng Shui and didn’t know how much a mirror could impact a room.  In Judaism, after someone dies, the tradition is that the family in mourning covers any mirrors in the house.  I’ve been in houses where a family member has just died and there is the feeling of time standing still with the mirror covered.

Also, don’t forget, at the right angle, glass can be a mirror as well.  Yet this mirror we can see through and reveals what is going on beyond it.

What do you think of when you think of mirrors?

Leave a Reply

