Over the river……

Yesterday was one of those days where there were little bits in my life like you see in a movie.  I wrote a check and ended a relationship that I was getting nothing out of and then later on had a very frank conversation and dropped the person at home and watched them go in the door.  Life goes on around us and we are part of it at the same time.

I also found out yesterday that someone I have many connections with and have sat and talked to several times actually lived and grew up on the same street as me.  She remembers my family very well and I actually remembered the number of her old house.  It was very, very weird to be sitting among a group of people talking about life experiences I haven’t thought about in years.  She started talking about certain landmarks that only existed near where I grew up.  Many of the people we both knew and remember have since died or moved away.

I drive by or near where I grew up on a pretty regular basis.  The area has changed but at the same time stayed pretty constant.  It is a middle class area just like the area I live in now.  Every once in a while I get a chance to talk about the old neighborhood when I run into people or people with names I recognize.  A lot of people could walk by me right now and I wouldn’t recognize them.

I always find in life the people I want to remember I can’t and the people I want to forget, I can’t get rid of.  Or is it just me?

Leave a Reply

