Meditations

I don’t meditate, I probably should.  The closest I come is taking walks.  I like to go to the beach or a nearby seawall and walk and just sit for a few minutes.  I do have one of those daily mediation books I pick up and read once in a while.  Sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn’t.  The one I picked up and read this morning ended with: focus on what you do, can do, choose to do, and are ready to do. 

As someone who is constantly making lists, I actually stopped this weekend.  I needed a few days off.  I need some time to refocus, rethink, and revamp.  Like the song goes: just breath.  The letters I rushed to post office to get stamps for can wait.  No one else has sent me any letters recently.  All the Punchbowl cards I sent electronically and only one was read, those can wait as well.  I read somewhere about getting your email advertising in people’s email boxes on Thanksgiving so they will be thinking about you when it’s time to shop.  Good advice and I hope I can make it.  However, I’m aiming more for Small Business Saturday.

Someone asked me recently what my ideal “work” situation is.  It would be a mix of the three major things I do: keep my caregiving situation (or I lose a lot of money), work EMT evenings, weekends,and nights, and have my clients opposite EMT.  I’ve worked three and four jobs at a stretch before and have always “balanced” very well.  I love EMT work and I love my tutoring/teaching at the same time.  It’s a tug of heartstrings which one I like better and they always come out the same.  Additionally, from past experience, and now running a business, I’ve learned that having something else to balance out the other thing is a healthy habit to have.  

I know what I do, I know what I can do, I know what I choose to do, and I know what I am ready to do.  

Leave a Reply

