I Have Not Disappeared

This post follows over a week of not posting.  In addition to Muse not singing, life had other things going on.  I’m still here, I haven’t gone anywhere.  December is slowly winding down.  For most college students and professors I know, young and old, the semester is either finished or just about there. The countdown to the Solstice and Christmas is growing intense.

This year December has felt much different.  I don’t know why.  The early nights feel more intense, even though I’m used to being out in the evenings and later.  I’ve always been a night owl, afternoons are my “slow” time.  I was just outside looking at the moon.  If it wasn’t so cold, I would stay out longer and admire the beautiful glow it is casting all around.  Additionally, the stars are so much more brighter and sharp in the winter.  The constellations are much easier to pick out in the sky, even with all of the light pollution.

I’m not really one who gets caught up in the holiday hoopla.  I spent one holiday season working a kiosk in a local mall when I was in college.  I remember that was where I had the chance to see a lot of people I know and some people I hadn’t seen in a long time in the same place.  I loved talking with the people who came by to inquire about the business I was working for.  I missed it when it was all over.  I would love to go back and do this again sometime because it was my favorite part of the holiday season.  I like the holidays because I get to see people I may not otherwise see for the rest of the year, maybe until the weather warms, if I’m lucky.

Leave a Reply

