Mirror, Mirror

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

This is the prompt I received this morning.  I’m going to do this now while I have a few minutes.  This also ties in to what I wrote about the other day about the words comfort and comfortable.

How much stock do I put into appearances?  Like every human being, I make my snap judgements at times.  However, one thing I have learned over the years is to restrain myself and hold back, let the real person come out for bad or good.  I know how I judge is a confluence of my life and background and experiences over the years and this is true for everyone, I don’t care how much people deny it.  This is one thing I’ve found over the years and see it more and more now being in public service.  When you walk into a scene and survey it and talk to the people who are there, there is an immediate judgement or reaction.  Many times it is justified yet sometimes when you get to the heart of the matter, more is going on than meets the eye.  Overall, though, I don’t put much stock into appearances.  The person who walks around in ripped clothes or is homeless can be the smartest person in the world yet the person who owns a mansion can be the nastiest person alive.

Does the person I see match what I see on the inside?  Yes.  It’s being comfortable in your own skin, with you who you are, and the choices you made and make.

2 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. I have been paying more attention to my personal style in the last year or so, wanting my appearance to look more “like me” – quirky yes and stylish to a certain degree, yes. My daughters keep me in line with style. I laugh because sometimes I go out of the house looking one step above bag lady. LOL. Not really, but you know what I mean? I’m getting better… and enjoy playing with what I have… and feel better about my looks since I have loved myself ANYWAY. 🙂

    Great to visit via the Ultimate Blog Challenge facebook page!

    Like

  2. What I look like and how I feel are frequently similar, but not often really alike. I feel like an athletic, active 20-something. I am still athletic and active. But I’m 20-something years older than the 20-something I think I am. Age and parenthood have taken their tolls on me, and when I look in the mirror, it startles me.

    Not that I think I look bad, mind you. I think I look pretty good, and I feel good too. But most of the time I don’t really look like what I think I look like.

    Or maybe I do, but I just don’t see it that way…

    Like

Leave a Reply

