Blogger of Repute

Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

My “reputation” depends on who you are talking to about me.  Isn’t this true about everyone?  We know people from different spheres in life and from them, hence, we get our “reputation.”

Over the years I’ve gotten stories or had interactions with people that completely contradict what their going “reputation” is.  Usually if I let people know I have called off a relationship, then the good juicy stuff really starts flowing.

Do I wonder what people think of me?  Who doesn’t?

No I care? Nope.  I live my life as I am and with, for the most part, what makes me happy.  I know to many people I am that quiet, little, mousy academic that doesn’t know any better or has any sense of street smarts.  I do and I know a lot more than people sometimes give me credit for and in my book, and that’s okay.  The most glaring examples are when people discover I’m an EMT or when I went to the police about my convicted drug felon neighbor after he threatened me.  Surprise!

One afternoon before I went on shift another neighbor came out to walk their dog.  I’m standing out in plain view in my uniform.  This person never says more than five words to me when I see them.  They look at me and the conversation went as follows:

Neighbor: You’re an EMT.

Me: Yes.

Neighbor: When did you get your license?

Me: 2012.

Neighbor: It’s a tough job.

Me: I know.  It doesn’t bother me.

They went back to walking their dog.

Leave a Reply

