The Monsters of Morley Manor

I haven’t written one of these in a while.  Dear Book Review, how I miss you.  I just finished, and yes, returned to the library, The Monsters of Morley Manor.

Lately I’ve been going through a phase of I-want-to-read-books-with-something-solid-for-children and this book is part of it.

As I always do, I don’t give much away.  All I want to say is: go out and read the book, even if you’re an adult.  It’s great.  It has a plot, the plot holds with some good, unexpected twists and turns.  The main narrator is believable.  It’s like being inside the head of a young person.

One thing I really liked about the book is how Mr. Coville brings in imagery from other works of literature, like, for example, Dante’s Inferno.  I’m impressed but don’t let that stop you from reading the book if you didn’t like reading or have never read Dante. You may actually want to pick Dante up after reading this book.

Leave a Reply

