#TeachbackThursday, April 14, 2016

I had something I was thinking about but am mildly distracted right now…
I read this book about grit this past week by two women who are modern day “Mad Men.” It’s called “Grit to Great” by Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval.
I fell asleep with the book in my hands which is an awesome thumbs up. It’s a short, easy read book. I am grateful to my local library for buying it.
They have a small section about a hundred year plan. This is hard to read after just finding out two people I know have close family members who died during the past week and I just learned tonight a family member may not live much longer.
This has to do with life goals and setting goals for every five or ten years. This is one part of my life I tend to not focus on so much but I have realized in the past few months it needs to be reevaluated, so to speak.
People, events, things, opportunities, organizations all come into your life at certain points and they open doors, show you new things, and point down different paths and different ideas you may not have known about or been focused on. You have to be open and willing and grit your teeth, no pun intended, to new experiences.
Plans change and goals may change but I’ve realized the hard way putting them down in writing is always a good reminder, a good goalpost, a good something-to-have.
There’s a Chinese proverb that even the faintest writing is stronger than the strongest memory.
That is so very true.

One thought on “#TeachbackThursday, April 14, 2016

  1. Putting things down in writing: that is much needed by me. I have a “To Do” list because memory flits in and out all day long. Like, “Why did I come into this room?” “Where did I put my phone?” With the “To Do” list I can check off those pesky things that get forgotten all too quickly, like make an appointment for…, send the email…, pick up my prescription…

    About those new things that come into your life. I agree that they can make a difference. We do need to be open to different ways of looking at things because of those new experiences, or people, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

