Take a Hike

Whenever I teach English idioms, this can be one of the tougher idioms to walk through, no pun intended.

What does “hike” mean to you?  A hike can be a long walk, a long period of travel, or with regards to money, money and prices can hike, they can go up.

On the base level, we know to take a hike means to take a nice walk, a tough, challenging walk in nature.

However, the idiom goes to another level.  When we tell someone to take a hike, or someone else tells us to take a hike, it means to leave in a negative way.  Leave, good-bye.

Hopefully that hike will be a better to a better place.

One thought on “Take a Hike

  1. I’m sure that if someone would tell me to “take a hike” as in go away, or you’re fired, or I want out of this relationship, that is, the negative side of that phrase, it would hurt like crazy. It might, however,, turn out to be a very positive thing in the long run. It could lead to a better job, or a much better relationship, and in time the hurt would go away.

    A lot depends on who is saying, “take a hike.” I would love it if a friend said, let’s take a hike, or if I could work with a group of school children, as I used to do, and ask them to follow me on a hike through the woods. That is one of my most favorite things to do. So, why is it I never do it any more? Hmmm, maybe you, Ange, have spurred me on to getting back to taking those long walks especially now that cooler weather is a comin’.

    Wishing you and your family a wonderful day. Sending hugs to all of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

