Book Review: Pistols and Petticoats

The title of this book caught my eye at the library: Pistols and Petticoats: 175 Years of Lady Detectives in Fact and Fiction.

I thought of a course I took in college that had a similar theme.  No offense to the professor, whose name I don’t even remember now, but I hated it.  They had selected a good, different selection of detective fiction about women but it got old very, very quickly.  I actually gave most of the books away soon after the class was done.

I wish this book had been around when I took that class.  What an eye opener.

Erika Janik, the author, covers the topic of women in police and investigative  work here in the United States both in fact and fiction.  Ms. Janik covers the predecessors to today’s popular authors.  Some of the works are in the popular domain like the book by Anna Katherine Green titled The Leavenworth Case.  Ms. Janik also traces the connections and similarities between the earliest of female detectives and their modern counterparts.

A must read. 5 stars.  Awesome book.dwynn4-owl-readg-book-clip-artjpg-detail-37298

Leave a Reply

