Measure

via Daily Prompt: Measure

I have a couple of measuring cups in my cabinets.  I need those when I cook, or do I? Sometimes I use mugs if the measuring cups are dirty.  I only use measuring cups for the big stuff.  The food I usually make I can usually eyeball the amounts.

I used a ruler to measure a craft project I am working on.

I checked my statistics on my site here to measure how many people have looked, the silver and the gold.  (Think Girl Scouts.)

I work in education where everything is measured.  Or is it?  How can you truly measure what someone knows and what skills they have?  Your measurement may not fit into what the other human being knows.  One can be book smart but lack street smarts or one can be street smart and not know how to pass the test.  Does one have a choice in life?

A test measures what someone wants and then what you can give back.

I posted on Facebook yesterday that you can never truly get to know a person until you sit and talk with them.  I prefer to commune over food and coffee when I can.

Everything in life is about measuring and numbers.  Weight, height, blood sugar, good cholesterol, bad cholesterol.  Heart rate, blood pressure. Measure the numbers and where do the numbers fit?

Age, date of birth, social security number, address, phone number.  Grades.  Rank.  Pass or fail.  Inches, feet.  Password with numbers.  Employee code and identification. Distance between two points.  Metric or American measurement?  Temperature.

Our lives come down to numbers and measurements.

 

One thought on “Measure

  1. That is true. It all comes down to numbers and measurements. What is hard is when we don’t fit in that one size fits all box. In fact, most of us don’t, and yet the world wants us to. It is pretty awesome when some folks who don’t seem to fit the mold goes on to accomplish so much. It is great if they can feel comfortable in their own skin even if others think they are weird.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

