Qualm

This is one word I see in print more than I hear people using it.  When spoken, it is often confused with “calm”.  People don’t round their lips enough for the “qu” pronunciation. English pronunciation and phonology is fun.

These words always seem to pop up in relation to something in my day.  I lost an opportunity I wanted but to get it I had a big qualm at one point.  Life goes on. Something else always comes along or I may be glad things didn’t work out in the end.

The municipality I live in is having a very difficult time passing the budget.  This is a huge qualm, quagmire, and quandary.  People are up in arms about it.  The council is divided and people are sniping at each other left and right.  And yes, I have been in on the fray myself.

I want to live my life with as few qualms as possible.  I don’t want to focus on them.  I want to focus on the positives, the blessings, and what I have.

A qualm can only be a noun, a thing.  It has no verb, no adverb, no adjective form.  The word simply exists as a thing.

Leave a Reply

