Review: The Black Cloud

I was reading this book on a day when the clouds were rolling in from an unusual summer storm just to the south of where I live.  The atmosphere fit the book.

The author, Fred Hoyle, was a well-known scientist and this comes through in the book.

An astronomer finds something out of order when taking pictures of the stars.  The only way for it to be described is as a black cloud that covers the Earth for a period of time and causes great chaos.  The story is mainly told from the scientist point of view.

A must for science fiction fans and those who love astronomy and doomsday tales.

I wonder if Steven King read this.  This has echoes of The Dome and also of Arthur Clarke.

10 out of 10.

30 Day Challenge: Day 1 – I need someone….

I’ve been given this 30 day challenge to teach and show what I do.  I can start with my elevator pitch but I have 29 days left to get to that.

When teaching English learners English, I like to use songs and music.  The reason I do this is because music helps the words, the grammar, the syntax all stick easier than simply doing rote memorization.  Teaching with music is also more fun than simply sticking with a book.

The Beatles “Help” is one of my favorite songs to use for advanced beginners to intermediate learners.  One needs the word “help” in English.  The song also teaches simple past, expressing using the verb “need”, the word “so”, “much”, adjectives, pronouns, conditional, and some great vocabulary.

The word “help” also sums up what I do, not only in my business, but all around.

In my business I help people transform their lives.  Yet like other business owners, this isn’t just my business, it is my life.  For the past 23 years, seven of the last have included my LLC, I have worked with, helped, taught, held hands with, cried with, gone through English grammar and literature with ad nauseum, pulled words and information out of people’s mouths, put their thoughts and information on paper, career coached and counseled them, wrote out their dreams and thoughts for them, banged my head against a few computer screens and desks in frustration, and overall seen people move on to better places and positions.